March 22-25, 2006
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Best of the Web

Recognizing achievement in heritage Web site design, a committee of museum professionals selects the Best of the Web each year. The judges all used the same set of Criteria when reviewing nominated sites. New for 2006, awards were made in each category specifically for small museums/small budgets.

Winners are linked from the category descriptions below.


Best On-line Exhibition

Best E-Services or E-Commerce Site

Best Educational Use

Best Innovative or Experimental Application

Best Museum Professional's Site

Best Research Site

Best Small Site

Best Overall Museum Web Site


See the full list of sites nominated.

Judging Criteria


Chair: Jennifer Trant, Archives & Museum Informatics

Confirmed Judges

Jim Angus, National Institutes of Health, USA
Pat Barbanell, Schenectady City Schools, USA
Martin Bazley, ICT4Learning, United Kingdom
Karen Bellnier, Amaze Design, Boston, USA
Ann Borda, London South Bank University, United Kingdom
Ana Carr, University of Guadalajara, Mexico
Jim Devine, Hunterian Museum and Art Gallery, Scotland
Ted Drake, Superior Pixels, USA
Ian Edelman, Hampshire County Council, United Kingdom
Karen Elinich, Franklin Institute, USA
Mike Ellis, The Science Museum, United Kingdom
Peter Gorgels, Rijksmuseum, The Netherlands
David Greenfield, Hebrew Union College, USA
Kate Haley Goldman, Institute for Learning Innovation, USA
Marjo Mäenpää, University of Art and Design, Helsinki, Finland
Susannah McGowan, Georgetown University, USA
Dana Mitroff, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, USA
Lawrence Monda, National Museums of Kenya, Kenya
Delphin Muise, Carleton University, Canada
Carsten Nielsen, National Museum of Denmark, Denmark
Joan Nordbotten, University of Bergen, Norway
Ian Rubenzahl, Art Gallery of Ontario, Canada
Osamu Takahashi, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA
Bruce Wyman, Denver Art Museum, USA

Conflict of Interest

No site will be considered for a Best of the Web Award, if a judge is associated with it in any way. Nominated sites will be reviewed before judging begins to ensure no conflicts exist.